The Florida Athletic Coaches Association announces the Cary McDonald Award winners for the “Athletic Program of the Year” in each classification. A lot of hard work and dedication, by the athletes and the coaches have made this award possible.

Years ago we named this award after our second Executive Director, Cary McDonald. Each year we recognize the top athletic programs in each classification with this award. There are two criteria that we use in selecting the winner: Whole School Membership and the athletic program’s finish in the FHSAA Floyd E. Lay Sunshine Cup All Sports Award. Plaques will be presented to each school in August.

Winners for the 2013-2014 school year:

8A                           Winter Park

7A                           St. Thomas Aquinas

6A                           Creekside

5A                           Plantation-American Heritage

4A Private           The Bolles School

4A Public             West Florida

3A Private           Holy Trinity

3A/2A Public      Moore Haven

2A Private           Orlando Christian Prep

1A                           Trenton

The FACA congratulates each school with this honor.

About the FACA

The Florida Athletic Coaches Association is comprised of over 5000 member coaches, both high school and college, in the state of Florida. The FACA sponsors ten High School All-Star Classics in nine sports, conducts four coaching clinics each year and recognizes coaches for their exemplary efforts supporting the youth of this state.
For more information visit:

On Twitter @FACACoach

On Facebook @FloridaAthleticCoachesAssociation